World Heritage changes

World Heritage Site chasers rejoice: you now have 13 more destinations to add to your list. And one to remove. 13 additions to keep your eye out for include two natural sites and 11 cultural sites and make up the newbies. Here they are:

1.) The Wadden Sea (natural) - Coast of the Netherlands and Northwestern Germany

2.) The Dolomites (natural) - Italy

3.) Stoclet House - A “total work of art” in Brussels, Belgium.

4.) The Ruins of Loropéni - the first World Heritage site in Burkina Faso

5.) Cidade Velha, Historic Centre of Ribeira Grande - Cape Verde. The first European colonial outpost in the tropics.

6.) Mount Wutai, China - 5 peaks. 53 monasteries.

7.) Shushtar, Historical Hydraulic System - Iran

8.) Sulamain-Too Sacred Mountain - Kyrgyzstan.

9.) The Sacred City of Caral-Supe - Peru. It’s the oldest centre of civilization in the Americas.

10.) The Royal Tombs of the Joseon Dynasty - South Korea

11.) The Tower of Hercules - Spain, at the entrance of La Coruña Harbour

12.) La Chaux-de-Fonds / Le Locle - Switzerland

13.) Pontcysyllte Aqueduct and Canal - Wales

However, there has been one subtraction as well. the German Elbe Valley near Dresden has lost its UNESCO World Heritage status, because they decided to build a four-lane bridge called "Waldschlösschenbrücke" through the middle of it, thus destroying the landscape.

0 Kommentare:

Post a Comment

Search This Blog


Snap Shots

Get Free Shots from